Music

Kings of Leon

Image
I’m obsessed.
I just watched their documentary ‘Talihina Sky’ (the name of one of their earlier tracks, and also the name of the town they grew up in) on Netflixย and I have a new found appreciation for their music. I was a fan before, but even more so now. I will admit, I wasn’t too impressed with the way the film was shot. I know it wasn’t meant to be this long, factual documentary per say, but I think a little more information should have been given. Also, subtitlesย in some partsย would have been great hehe. Besides that, I really loved how the film showed us where the guys were raised and how they grew up. If you aren’t aware, the 3 brothers Nathan, Caleb & Jared’s father was a minister, and they spent a lot of their youth travelling from one Pentecostal church to the next. Matthew (guitarist) is their cousin.ย The documentary introduces you to their extended family, cousins & friends and gives you a lot of interesting insights. There’s also some home video footage of the guys growing up which was really cool to see too. I love documentaries for the reason that when it comes to public figures, documentaries make them seem more real and accessible and it’s pretty clear to see when people are being genuine or not. Society tends to view celebrities as these mystical creatures with special powers or something. Kings of Leonย seem like really down to earth, kind, extremely talented guys who are genuinely in it for the music.

Lead singer Caleb Followill’s voice is perfection, and suits their style of alternative/southern rock amazingly. Before I watched the documentary, I didn’t listen to too much of their older music, and now I’ve realized that it’s some of their best work. At the end of the film, KOL play Talihina Sky sitting in a circle acoustically. That was my favorite bit of the whole film by far. Caleb’s voice was mesmerizing. The song sounded incredible acoustic. It was so raw and beautiful. That was what made me fanatic about finding more of their music. That version of Talihina Sky in the documentary is far better than the few recorded versions they’ve released. It’s worth it to watch the documentary just for that one part alone.

Kings of Leon have a distinct, true, original rock sound and I think that’s why people connect and love them so much. They’re not hipster wannabes. Between Caleb’s distinct voice (a front man must have a unique voice to stand out.. especially in rock music!), the quality and emotion of their songs, musicianship and their lyrics, they are the epitome of what a real rock band should be. I know there are people who say they are overrated, blah blah blah. I disagree. With so many mediocre rock bands out right now, Kings of Leon are popular for a reason.

Kings of Leon are releasing their 6th studio album Mechanical Bull on September 24th, and TOMORROW (July 17th) they are releasing the first single titled ‘Supersoaker’!
There are quite a few live videos of the song on youtube if you can’t wait till tomorrow to check it out. I’m stoked for the CD release in September, but until then I’ll be rocking their older stuff on repeat. My current favorites are The Runner, Where Nobody Knows & Taper Jean Girl.

What do you guys think of the new single ‘Supersoaker’?! Love it, Hate it? Comment below and let me know!

Side note: For people who have seen the film.. How 70’s did Kings of Leon look when they first started out?! It felt like watching footage from a 70’s rock band.. loved it!

‘But everybody says this place is beautiful
And you’d be so crazy to say goodbye
But everything’s the same this town is pitiful
And I’ll be gettin’ out as soon as I can fly’

– Natasha
xo

Standard

Leave a Reply

