Recipes

Chocolate Coconut Slice

Image

Today I was feeling lethargic and whenever that happens, look out! Either I go into a music frenzy, playing all of my old favourites (Def Leppard and early Madonna full force baby!) or I become a stir crazy baker. Or I do both at the same time. Which is exactly what I did today.  In our family we do everything to music. It just makes doing anything way more fun!

I decided to bake my mom’s classic recipe, Chocolate Coconut Slice.
So put your music on, get your groove on and get baking!
INGREDIENTS:
BOTTOM:
  • 1/2 c. Butter
  • 1/3 c. Brown sugar
  • 11/4c. Flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
TOP:
  • 2 eggs beaten
  • 1c. Brown sugar
  • 3 tbsp cocoa
  • 1 tbsp flour
  • 1/2c. Chopped walnuts
  • 1c. Coconut
  • 1tsp vanilla
ICING:
  • 11/4c. Icing sugar
  • 1/3c. Cocoa
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 5 tsp. hot water or hot coffee
DIRECTIONS:
BOTTOM:
Measure first 4 ingredients into a bowl. Crumble together.
Press into a 9×13 ungreased pan.
TOP:
Beat eggs until foamy. Add rest of the ingredients and stir well.
Spread over bottom layer.
Bake at 350 oven for 30 minutes.
Cool then frost.
ICING:
Stir all ingredients in a small bowl, adding more liquid if needed to spread.
Note: I keep this cake covered in the refrigerator until ready to serve.

Image

Happy baking!
Laura xo
Standard

Leave a Reply

