Recipes

Great Grandma Eames’ Scottish Shortbread Cookies

Image

Nothing says it’s Christmas time like shortbread cookies!
Okay, we also said that in our previous post about our amazing gingerbread cookies. But seriously, Christmas isn’t really Christmas without Shortbread. We say, ‘the more cookies the better!‘ We have more than enough love for every single kind of Christmas cookie!

Image

This recipe is from my Great Grandma Elizabeth Eames who was from Scotland. So I guess I can’t get any more authentic than that can I? However, I have changed it just a tad. (The nerve!)
My family’s traditional Scottish Shortbread has always been made and baked in a pan, pricked with a fork throughout and then cut in squares. Some family members still insist that I should be doing it that way. As that is the only way. I have changed it only in the way of rolling the dough out and cutting with Christmas shapes instead of in bars. Otherwise the recipe itself is still exactly the same as it has always been. Some family members swear the cookies taste different just because they are in cookie shapes and not the traditional bars. In any case… you can do either and I guarantee they taste delicious either way!

Image

Recipe for Great Grandma Elizabeth Eames Scottish Shortbread

Ingredients:
Yield 2 1/2 dozen cookies.

2 c. sifted flour
1/4 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1 c. soft butter (unsalted)
1/2 c. confectioner sugar (icing sugar)

Sift flour, baking powder and salt together.
Mix together butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
Add flour mixture into butter mixture and blend well.
Cover and refrigerate until easy to handle. (approx an hour)

If making into cookie shapes, roll dough out onto a lightly floured surface at approximately 1/4 inch thick. Cut into desired shapes and add sprinkles (optional) before baking. Place onto parchment lined cookie sheet.

If making into bars, press mixture into a parchment lined 9×9 square cake pan. Use a fork to make indents right through to the bottom of pan, allowing for air.

Bake at 325 for approximately 20-25 minutes.
(Just until slightly golden around the edges.)

Image

This recipe is now in it’s 5th generation of being passed down (on my mom’s side). It has obviously held a very special place in our hearts.
My mom and her brother (her only sibling) have plenty of stories of when they were growing up associated with this recipe. It was only made at Christmas time and it was a very big treat to even get a piece of this shortbread. It was typically reserved for the adult guests only.
Every year when I bake this shortbread I always think of these stories about my mom and my uncle when they were children growing up. This year those memories fill my heart even more as I remember my uncle and how much he loved this shortbread and how much I love him.
It is with love that we bake goodies and share them with our friends and family. I thought it would be nice to share stories of what Christmas baking means to you. What special memories do you have?

We know that you will love these Scottish Shortbread cookies/bars as much as we do!
Happy Christmas baking!
Laura & Natasha xo

Standard

One thought on “Great Grandma Eames’ Scottish Shortbread Cookies

  1. Pingback: On the first day…Cinnamon and Rosemary Shortbread | A Bakers Diet

Leave a Reply

